FIRST Senior Mentor Program

Click to enlarge

Demand for FIRST has increased so rapidly and organically that it continues to face a growing challenge to sustain the infrastructure needed to support this growth. Founded in 2005, the FIRST Senior Mentor program prides itself in its cross-program, grass-roots approach. Through outreach events, expositions and demonstrations they are able to attract new Volunteers, Mentors and Coaches to sustain and support both rookie and veteran  teams. 

The FIRST Senior Mentor program is a critical addition to an organization that needs people on the ground, working in a hands-on environment, filling  in the gaps of support to whomever and whatever is needed. FIRST Senior Mentors, or FSMs, are both technical and non-technical individuals and bring  with them a vast array of background and experience.

FIRST Senior Mentors are recruited through a cross-program nomination process that occurs locally at the collaborative recommendation of their Regional Directors and Partners because of their previous relationships with FIRST Programs and their general understanding of the culture of FIRST. Most, if not all FSMs have had existing relations with FIRST as Team Mentors, Coaches or event Volunteers. They work in a part-time capacity, (10-15 hours per week), in constant communication and collaboration with each Program Lead; their area Regional Director, Regional/Planning/Operational Committees, Program Partners, and VISTA Volunteers (if applicable).

FIRST Senior Mentors

Location

Name *click name to access bio                                         

Contact Information                     

UNITED STATES
AZ Fredi Lajvardi flajvardi@usfirst.org 
AZ Melody Simoncic msimoncic@usfirst.org
CA, Los Angeles Eileen Kahn ekahn@usfirst.org
CA, Northern Los Angeles Ty Fredricks tfredriks@usfirst.org
CA, San Diego Rick Sisk rsisk@usfirst.org
CA, Northern Teri Benart tbenart@usfirst.org
CT  Kathie Kentfield kkentfield@usfirst.org 
DC  Don Brobst dbrobst@usfirst.org
DC Angie Fontanilla afontanilla@usfirst.org
FL, Gainesville Andrew Milluzzi amilluzzi@usfirst.org
GA Linda Pham lpham@usfirst.org
IL Diane Cabiness dcabiness@usfirst.org
IN Keith Hall khall@usfirst.org
IA Andy Marshall amarshall@usfirst.org
KY Rachel Riquelme rriquelme@usfirst.org
KY Roger Riquelme roger.riquelme@usfirst.org
LA Daniel Eiland deiland@usfirst.org
MA Dana Henry dhenry@usfirst.org 
MD TBD  
MN Evan Hochstein ehochstein@usfirst.org
MN Laurie Shimizu lshimizu@usfirst.org
MO, St. Louis Henry Graham hgraham@usfirst.org
MS Kevin McKone kmckone@usfirst.org 
NC Fiona Last-Powell flastpowell@usfirst.org
NJ           Lou Okrent lokrent@usfirst.o
NY, Finger Lakes Ron Borden rborden@usfirst.org
NY, Upstate  Albert Gritzmacher agritzmacher@usfirst.org
NY, New York City Mike Siegel   msiegel@usfirst.org
NV Justin Major jmajor@usfirst.org
OH Ted Hood thood@usfirst.org
OR Debbie Kerr dkerr@usfirst.org
OR Diana Stephens dstephens@usfirst.org
PA, Eastern Ben Martin bmartin@usfirst.org
TX, Brownsville Javier Saenz jsaenz@usfirst.org
TX, Dallas Joe Varnell jvarnell@usfirst.org
TX, Houston Brenda Meyer bmeyer@usfirst.org
TX, Lubbock George Tan gtan@usfirst.org
TX, San Antonio Mike Henry  mhenry@usfirst.org 
VA                                         Kristin Clemons kclemons@usfirst.org
WA Eric VanBuren evanburen@usfirst.org
WV Jaime Ford jford@usfirst.org
CANADA
AB, Calgary Joel Gallant jgallant@usfirst.org
AB, Calgary Craig Maynard cmaynard@usfirst.org
ON, Greater Toronto  Paul Keenan pkeenan@usfirst.org
ON, Southern George Chisholm gchisholm@usfirst.org
ON, Southern Lynn Rampertab lrampertab@usfirst.org


Senior Mentors strengthen and expand FIRST partnerships with businesses, educational institutions, and communities. In doing so, the Senior Mentor program has moved us closer to achieving the goal of FIRST - to change society by providing youth with experiences that give them not just the skills, but also the desire, to solve problems through scientific and technological innovation.

Read more about becoming a FIRST Senior Mentor.

Read the FIRST Senior Mentor bios.

Read about our Ask an Expert Calls for rookie teams, Mentors and Coaches, cross-program.